Eminent Domain: The State of….

6 03 2008

Lee’s Notes: Angie’s List had a pretty good set of articles in their monthly magazine about eminent domain(taking of peoples lands by government generally for public use).  I figured I would cut n paste the list of states with laws governing how eminent domain is used. At first glance, Central Indiana appears to be in decent shape!

The state of reforms

In the wake of the 2005 Kelo v. City of New London decision, 42 states have passed some kind of eminent domain reform that limits municipalities from taking land and handing it over to private developers.In addition to the eight states that have done nothing, the Institute for Justice says many others have passed only weak reforms, leaving substantial loopholes.Here’s the state-by-state rundown:

As always, if you like what I write, and you or someone you know is looking to buy, sell, and or invest using a great realtor in central Indiana, or anyplace else for that matter. Please feel free to send me the persons name, email, address, and or phone number and I will be happy to help them, or refer them to someone else who can… In the process, I may earn a referral fee, if i cant help them myself!